On This Page

Council President re-elected

Cheryl Evans, RN, signs on for a second term

councilOn March 21, 2019, CNO’s Council chose Cheryl Evans as its President for a second term starting on Wednesday, June 5, 2019. Evans is a nursing professional practice and policy advisor at St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton. She is also an assistant clinical professor at McMaster University’s School of Nursing.

“Being Council President is a tremendous honour,” says Evans. “With Council, I am actively engaged in helping to ensure that nursing practice in Ontario meets the highest standards and always serves the public interest. It is work I feel passionate about, and am very privileged to do.”

Evans began her first term as Council President on June 6, 2018. Previously, she served as Vice-President RN during the 2017-2018 term.

As well, Council re-elected Heather Whittle as Vice-President RN.

New to the Vice-President RPN position is Ashley Fox.

As President, Evans chairs Council’s Executive Committee, which provides leadership to Council. Also on the Committee are Heather Whittle, who was re-elected as Vice-President RN, and Cathy Ward, re-elected as a public member.

New to the Executive Committee this year are Ashley Fox, who was elected as Vice-President RPN, and Judy Petersen, also elected as a public member.

CNO thanks all of its Council members for their contribution to regulating nursing in the public interest.

Learn more about Council at www.cno.org/council.

Page last reviewed April 04, 2019